Dropping My First F-Bomb!

Why being lost, stressed and frustrated caused me to drop my first F-bomb.

Jeffrey Goh
4 min readNov 9, 2020

In this dream, my friends and I were in Cambodia for business purposes. I have no idea why Cambodia as it was more than five years ago since I last visited the country.

After a series of meetings, we had some spare time before our flight home. So, we decided to go to a mall to do some shopping.

Suddenly, I noticed that my friends were not around, and I tried looking for them but to no avail. It was then I realised that they had left for the airport without telling me. Bastards!

With many transport options to the airport (e.g. taking a cab), I decided that driving myself there was the best choice. God knows why I chose that.

Instead of renting a car, I asked the shopping mall’s concierge if I could drive his car to the airport. Strangely, he agreed, and he followed me in the car. Again, God knows why he agreed to that. Poor guy, he’s in for an adventure.

The problem is, I had no idea how to get to the airport! To make matters worse, I cancelled my mobile roaming because I thought my trip ended and had no need for it. Because of that, I had no data to use Google Maps to navigate to the airport.

I asked the concierge if he had Internet data on his phone so that I could hotspot from, to which he replied: “Sorry sir, I’m too poor to afford any data on my phone”.

My heart sank — not because I felt sorry that he was too poor to afford data, but because I could not navigate to the airport properly! Sigh, I’m such a heartless person in my dream. But I’m not like that in real life.

By this time, I’m driving aimlessly trying to follow the signboards, but it was impossible to drive on these roads.

I looked at my watch and noticed that my flight was departing in 30 minutes. I was sure that I was going to miss my flight. So in full panic and stress mode, I started swearing loudly in the car.

“F*** this shit! F***! F*** I’m late! Argh!!” I screamed. In the real world, I do not swear. I have never dropped the F-bomb before.

With all hopes gone, I closed my eyes and…

…then, I woke up, and my dream ended.

Another one of those dreams where it left me drenched in sweat and my clothes soaked.

Why did I dream of that? Why did I dream of missing a flight or dream of saying the F-bomb or not having any empathy for the concierge when he said he was too poor to afford Internet data for his mobile phone?

While it’s difficult to pinpoint to any exact incidents that happened in real life, there are some studies or theories that provide some explanations and help me make sense of them.

  1. According to Harvard University psychiatrists, John Allan Hobson and Robert McCarley, they suggest that dreams don’t actually mean anything. Instead, they’re merely electrical brain impulses that pull random thoughts and imagery from our memories.
  2. On the other hand, renowned psychologist Sigmund Freud believed that dreams revealed unconsciously repressed conflicts or wishes.

From my point of view, I’d say that both points ring true to me in this dream. Perhaps I was feeling a little stressed during the week of this dream (happened a couple of weeks ago), maybe even a little frustrated or angry.

But I’m the type of person who rarely show my true feelings in real life. I tend to keep them to myself. Hence as Sigmund Freud suggested that dreams revealed unconsciously repressed conflicts, this may be one of the reasons why I lost it in the dream. But at the same time, it doesn’t reflect who I am in real life too — where I’m an apathetic person as my dream reflected.

Additionally, dreams pull random thoughts and imagery from our memories as what the Harvard University psychiatrists suggest. In this dream, my friends were people who are close to me with whom I interact daily. So I guess that’s right.

This is just a short analysis of my dream. I suppose it doesn’t mean anything. But what I do know is, I love to dream, and I look forward to going to bed thinking about the dreams I will have.

Some references were taken from Dreams — https://www.dreams.co.uk/sleep-matters-club/do-people-actually-believe-dreams-mean-something-to-us/.

--

--

Jeffrey Goh

I write about my vivid dreams through short stories and emotions through poems.